Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Untanglit

Default Can't access my security camera DVR behing Untangle

Hello,
    We recently installed a camera surveillance system in our restaurant. The cameras all connect to one DVR and can be viewed through the software included in the package. Supposedly, the software can be loaded on a machine and viewed remotely but I can't seem to get my Untangle firewall to let me see it. It uses DDNS for remote viewing and assigned a domain name for us automatically: ddnsxx-xx-xx.dvrdomain.com. I've, of course, tried putting this address in on the remote settings and can get no connectivity. I typed it into firefox with HTTPS:// before it and it redirected me to the Untangle login screen. I'm still a novice with Untangle and port forwarding but I think I got it close.

This is how I have things setup:

16 cameras --> 1 DVR
    DVR has local IP address and can be viewed locally with no problem
    DDNS setting on DVR:
    Server: dvrdomain.com
    Port: 95
    Domain Name: ddnsxx-xx-xx.dvrdomain.com
    Admin port: 5920
    Audio/Video port: 5921
    Web Port: 80

Port forwarding on Untangle:
    Destined Local
    Destination Port: 95
    Protocol: TCP
    Source Address: ddnsxx-xx-xx.dvrdomain.com

New Destination: 192.168.1.xxx (IP address of DVR)
    Port: 80

So, am I even close? Do I need to make port forwards for the Admin and Video ports as well?

Hopefully, someone can make sense of this mess for me because the boss wants to be able to watch his employees from his house and doesn't want to hear technical explanations of why he can see it already.

looks like you have an error on your port forward. You will need to use the IP address. Also, you don't use the source address. If you only have 1 external IP address from your ISP, you don't need to specify an IP address. Untangle knows to port forward the external to the internal.
    to be understood, you must first understand.