|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Newbie
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
![]() |
While testing my Untangle in noticed some hyperlinks at the bottom of a blocked web page. They go to Bedrock.com and seem to be some kind of advertisment for tracking surfers. Is this normal?
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) | |
|
Newbie
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
![]() |
I just noticed this, and in addition, noticed that if you click on one of the sponsored links, Untangle blocks the sponsor. Why is Untangle partnering with advertisers it deems scammers?
Clicking on "Automotive" sponsored link: Quote:
Last edited by gianspi; 02-09-2010 at 12:12 PM.. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
Master Untangler
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Untangler
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Orleans, La
Posts: 67
![]() |
Yeah, I blocked it.
Sorry Untangle, great product but with more of this sh*t I'll recommend others elsewhere. I know you have to make a profit but to advertise sites that you block is a double-standard and a little stupid. |
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) | |
|
Untangle Junkie
![]() Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Mateo, CA
URLs submitted: 10
Posts: 6,694
![]() |
Quote:
you should now be able to go there. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
URLs submitted: 7
Posts: 9,951
![]() |
A bit of patience would be nice... the open source filter lists have been full of false positives forever...
Also, it would probably be a good idea for Untangle to build something that automatically takes the people they advertise out of the database... Of course, if any of my clients end up with spyware because of one of those ads.... it won't be pretty.
__________________
Intouch Technology Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP Office: 480-272-9889 rob@intouchtechllc.com |
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|