Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Untangler

Default Questions about Bandwidth Control setup

Hi all,

I've been doing some rules cleanup and such on my home Untangle, and thought it was finally time to give the Bandwidth Control app a whirl. As my background is more on the admin/security side than network shaping and flow, I figured I should review the wiki before jumping right in. As I make my way through the wiki and FAQ, I have a few questions.
    First, I see the most important setting is the WAN bandwidth rates. I know what we pay for likely isn't what the actual speed is, so I followed the recommendation to do some tests during off-peak time. This ended up taking me down a rabbit hole, as the first couple of results came back in the neighborhood of:

Ping: 11 - 13 ms
    Download: 403 - 501 Mbps
    Upload: 40 - 41 Mbps

I was perturbed, because that's about half the speed we pay for. On the bright side, it's a chance to play around some more! I set up a rule to bypass my desktop, and ran the tests again. Pretty big difference as now it showed:

Ping: 12 ms
    Download: 934 Mbps
    Upload: 42

I know some loss is to be expected as Untangle does all the nifty things it does, but I didn't expect that. When running the test normally (not bypassed), CPU Load never exceeded 1.25 with a little over 40% memory used. Untangle is installed on an SSD, and I added an Intel server 10/100/1000 NIC to avoid any "on-board NIC" chokepoints.

So... back up the rabbit hole, should I use the "real" bandwidth rate of 400-500 Mbps as the base for the 95-100% calculation of WAN bandwidth as that's what I'm seeing on the interior network when Untangle is doing it's thing, or 900+ Mbps, as that's what Untangle will see (I presume) on it's external interface?

Additionally, is there anything I should be looking at to see about reducing that bottleneck?

Thanks, and happy weekend!

Good morning!