Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Master Untangler

Default 7.1 Beta and USB Nic updated

I owned a USB nic from smc network, it was usb 1.1. That's what I have been using as my external nic until about 20 minutes ago. I upgraded it to the 2.0 model of the same thing and I'm back up and running. Untangle found the new usb nic, I configured it and ta-da, running like a champ.

Thank you again for giving me back untangle! I was a U4W user until a firmware upgrade on my d-link router messed up untangle. The only hardware I had to run untangle on was a MSI wind PC with only one NIC and NO WAY to add a second.

7.1 is the greatest.

Erm... 7.1 doesn't have an updated kernel... it has the same hardware support that 6.2 had...
    Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP
    NexgenAppliances.com
    Phone: 866-794-8879 x201
    Email: support@nexgenappliances.com

Master Untangler

Ya know, I've heard that story before. I think, and trust me I'm a rookie, that prior versions of untangle would fail during install if there was only one true NIC detected. because 7.1 can run on one NIC (VM), it bypasses that one NIC fail spot and continues the install. Then when it configures it will see the USB NIC, configures it and install it.
    Untangle can be addictive :D

Ahh yes that would make sense. Arg, that brings up an entirely new idea set for testing small installs.
    NexgenAppliances.com

Master Untangler

In looking at USB NICs I notice that the SMC line has standard linux drivers, many of the other brands don't.

When I first bought the USB NIC I had been using I bought it dirt cheap off of e-bay just to test untangle with. I had been a U4W user for a while until a firmware upgrade to my dlink dir-655 router blocked untangle from working properly. I tried everything I could think of to get U4W running again to no avail.