Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Losing deals sucks!

I lost a huge deal today. sucks bad
    Last edited by proactivens; 07-09-2010 at 01:54 PM.
    www.nexgenappliances.com
    Toll Free: 866-794-8879
    UNTANGLE STAR PARTNER
    Follow us at spiceworks!

what did you lose it to ?
    kv-2 | UT 11.0.1 | Dell R610 Server | Intel Xeon 2.8Ghz Quad Cores | 24Gb DDR3 ECC | 1 Intel QPort NIC | Integrated Broadcom QP | Dell Perc 4i | 6 x 73G 2.5 15k SAS raid 10 | 100mb/100mb | 30mb/30Mb

about 5 years ago, when I was a Cisco account manager, resellers could register the deal/opportunity. As long as you register the deal/opportunity first, Cisco could provide some protection/discount. However, if the customer wanted to go with the other reseller, there is nothing that Cisco could do.
    to be understood, you must first understand.
    Attention: Support and help on the Untangle Forums is provided by volunteers and community members like yourself. If you need Untangle support please call or email support@untangle.com

I lost it to Tangent, an Untangle OEM partner.

I developed the sale. They had no idea what untangle was or could do when I first spoke to them. After a month of quoting and sales "engineering" I had a signed PO. We were waiting for the new budget for the 2010-2011 school year so they could pay for the appliance we were putting together for their school. 6000 users. Education standard package.

Then, out of the blue "tangent" comes in with its "webhawk" product, under cuts my quote to BELOW MY FRICKING COST, and sells them on a single quad core "appliance" with 8gb of ram, so on and so forth. Our quote was for a dual quad xeon appliance. Of course "webhawk" will be cheaper, their getting half the hardware.

So tangent stole the sale that I developed and there isnt anything I can do about it.
    www.nexgenappliances.com
    Toll Free: 866-794-8879
    UNTANGLE STAR PARTNER
    Follow us at spiceworks!

Master Untangler