Default Is There an Easy Way to Block Devices?

Bottom line: I'm using Untangle at home and am looking for an easy and efficient way to block internet access to my kids' devices on the fly (for example, if they aren't doing their chores...its time for dinner...that sort of thing).

Rest of the story:
    I'm new to Untangle...still on the 14 day trial. I have my home network setup and split into several vlans. My kids have devices that they pretty much only use themselves and I have assigned each device for each kid a username...bill...bob...tom....that sort of thing to identify all of Bill's devices, etc.

I can set a firewall rule to something like "if username is Bob then block" and it works well. Problem is, I have to open a web browser, navigate to the untangle UI, go to the firewall rule, and a few clicks later enable it and save it and then do it all over again when I want to unblock it.

There's got to be a better way. Perhaps a script to write a json file to enable/disable the rule that can be run on a smartphone? I've never done that so I'm not sure where to start.

Any thoughts? Is there a better way?

Thanks in advance!!

NuX
    Untanglit

I understand your frustration. I don't know if this is easy/hard/indifferent. I have not messed with Untangled API's yet. its on my list todo. Here's what I've been able to find previously; https://apidocs.untangle.com/, like I have said I haven't played with it. but looking at the page, it appears they did an awesome job documenting the api's. They have examples with curl. I wish every company provided examples.

Regarding the smart phone, I really can't provide much advice for developing apps on them. My only experience is with android, and the app was basic.. it just vibrated.. and caused my friends phone to restart. oops. Maybe I should have done a Try/Catch.