Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question What kind of rule do I need to create (and where) to allow this traffic?

traffic being blocked.png

Brand new Untangle user and having a slight problem. First off, I'm no network expert but can USUALLY find my way around things but this has me scratching my head. Above is a capture of something that is currently being blocked that I need to allow.

Old setup: internet comes in to a SB8200 cable modem and from there into an Asus router. The router goes into a switch and my server (static 192.168.1.5 IP) is plugged into the switch. I needed to set up a port forward to allow inbound traffic from this 51. address to my internal server and over a particular port.....lets say port 1500. This setup worked perfectly.

New setup: internet comes in to a SB8200 cable modem and from there, into my Untangle firewall and from the Untangle box to the Asus router (which is now in Access Point mode) and from there, to the switch.

Internet is AOK.... all my clients are working.... I can access the web console for Untangle, my Asus router...... not having any of the problems I had with OPNsense, pfSense, Sophos.... Untangle looks like a keeper EXCEPT....... this one little problem.

I tried writing an inbound rule for this traffic in the Firewall app (under rules), went into network config and tried writing a rule in the port forward and NAT sections.......... but nothing is working.

I currently have a Plex rule (allow inbound on 32400 so people can stream from me) in the port forward rules section and it's working fine. So I thought hey....no biggie.... just need to create another simple, inbound rule for my "1500" port so I tossed this in there and no go.

So if you were writing a rule for this to work, which section would you use and how would you write it? (To make things secure, I need the rule to allow traffic only from that IP.)

Thanks!

Other than this, loving Untangle! Plan on buying it if I can just nail down this one little problem.