Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    JTS

Default Hardware Build for Home Use

Hi, i wanted to build my own router for home use.. Not a typical home as most of my data traffic is streaming media and my personal VMWARE LAB for work (i'm a system engineer). I currently have 1GB internet (FIBER to House) copper to Router.
    My needs/uses
    6 Video Streaming Devices (mostly fireTV) streaming mostly Youtube and Netflix
    5 Echos/Dots
    3-5 tablets
    7-10 personal computers at any given time
    2 Ubiquity AP's
    2 Servers Hosting my Virtual LAB
    1 Juniper ex4200t switch POE
    1 HP1910 switch POE
    Several random switches that get swapped in and out depending on what im testing or setting up at the time.
    Several IOT devices (management for 3d printers laser printers Raspi etc)
    1 IPTV (possibly more in future)

Currently i'm using a Ubiquity Edge Router for my gateway / firewall and it supports the system so so.. seems a bit slow at times.

What i'm looking for is nice management.. the ability to set devices by IP or Mac on schedules to turn off at bed times etc (babysitter for kids) VPN for myself. The ability to shut access off on demand on devices (again for getting kids attention) and i need it to be simple enough my wife can use it to.. I like the idea of the parental controls, antivirus etc that the untangle has but its not my biggest concern as i have that handled through other services but if i can eliminate those and just use one.. all the better.

my proposal

Dell PE610 2 Xenon hex-core 2.4Ghz procs 16 GB ECC Ram and a 250GB SSD . system has 2 internal broadcom cards and a 4 port intel NIC

i would like to feed my AP's into the system for VLAN management and sand-boxing for Guests. so i would use 2 of the intel nic's for that and the other 2 to pass to my switch and the 2 Broadcom NICS as the WAN Ports. Possibly adding a additional card for a DMZ port or 3.