Question Untangle on Protectli FWB4 (and later Ubuiquity AP). Will this work?

Hi all,

I'm currently running DD-WRT on a home router and have decided to switch to something more robust for our home and better suits my needs. From doing a bit of reading it seems that Untangle will meet my needs.

I currently run 2 VLANs at home (home network, guest network) and ideally would like a 3rd virtual WLAN for IoT devices. However the virtual WLAN feature in DD-WRT doesn't work reliably, so I ended up using an old router as AP for the guest network. At some point in the near future I'd like to get a Ubiquity AP, so I can use one physical AP device for all virtual WLANs.

So what I am considering to get:
    - Protectli FWB4 Mini PC (Celeron J3160, 4 Intel NICs, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD). Sorry, as a newbie here, I can't post the URL yet.
    - Untangle Home Pro
    - (at a later point) Ubiquity Unifi AP to run multiple WLANs

Will this play well together? Is there something that I should be aware of before going out and buying the FWB4 and the Ubiquity AP?

Thanks so much in advance for any help and advice,
    Bernhard

Untangler

should all work fine, very similar to what i run here with ubiquitii ap's. I am quite partial to qotom gear (have 3) but have also heard good things about Protectli. Intel nics are the biggie outside of that should all work great.
    tangofan likes this.

ifican, thanks so much for the response.

I looked at Qotom as well and they seem very similar and would have been a contender as well, however, I didn't want the hassle of dealing with a shipment from directly China (in case I need to return it). That's why I'm looking at Protectli.

I'm hoping that the Celeron J3160 will be beefy enough, even with some of the more advanced intrusion detection features of Untangle, (FWIW I have 200 mbps downstream from my Internet provider). But going with an i5-7200u is about $300 more and that is a bit hard to swallow.

Master Untangler