Untangler

Default [Bad] Installation tales ... (Noob)

Hi, I consider myself an average computing guy, I had installed Linux several times, including iptables and proxies; but this is my first time with Untangle (7.4). Of course, I've read the forums (okay, not all the posts, too many!!), and think I've the basic guidelines to start a simple/basic setup.

I installed Untangle 7.4 in a HP ML110, with 2 NICs, and NO Internet connection. The installation ran smoothly (as far as I thought it could). Then I connected the ADSL cable from modem to NIC0 of ML110, and it completed the installation (admin's password, NIC's settings and packages).

Then I updated the packages and tested some modules, everything rans fine. The problem arose (I think so) when I unplugged the Internet cable (because here at office we have a single ADSL line connected directly to a D-Link DIR655 router, and I think we could have problems with the IP Address of our LAN and the [still unused] NIC1 [with IP 192.168.1.X, same LAN as office, but without cable].

Rebooting the U7.4 server without Internet connection lasted veeeery long (>10 mins) with the blank screen -after completing the Untangle loading progress bar [green bar at bottom] ... switching to F1 (tty1), saw the message:

Loading Untangle Net-Alpaca iptables rules
    (This messages repeats every 5 or so minutes)

Some additional tips:

a) I know about other member with a ML110 who can't install, I was able to use Untangle about 3-4 hours and reboot several times without problems.

b) I plugged the Internet cable (directly from ADSL modem) and reboot, nothing, same message.

c) I've not problem reinstalling, my concern is why this happened? How can I avoid this in the future?

This is my first Untangle (Lite) installation, and need to test everything before going to the customer, then they will buy some modules like Policy Manager, but now I'm little bit scared about this ...

Thanks in advance for any help,

Jean H//

Untangler