Default newbie. have some questions.

Hi. I'm currently using endian, and am thinking of switching to untangle or vyatta. I have a few questions though, I hope someone can give their input or suggestions.

1. can untangle do BGP? Right now we have a network drop to our switch directly from our upstream provider. From there, we have endian in place to do NAT. We are growing fast, and would probably be getting our own ASN soon, hence I'm asking about BGP (i'm new to this as well). Can untangle handle it or do I need to have a router in front (vyatta in front, then untangle as firewall?).

2. can untangle do subnetting? say i have a /24 assigned to me, and I want to assign multiple /32s or /30s. Can untangle take care of this? Again, new to this firewall. Been using endian and I don't think endian can do it, as we are strictly using endian to NAT.

any suggestions on deployment please are very welcome.

Thanks

welcome to the forums.

1) no BGP.

2) sure. I assure you endian can probably do this too.
    Attention: Support and help on the Untangle Forums is provided by volunteers and community members like yourself.
    If you need Untangle support please call or email support@untangle.com

Thanks for the reply.

If I want BGP, it would be best to have vyatta or a cisco router in front then right?

Regarding subnetting, in endian, I just place the public IPs i have in the internet devices. I assume it's the same with untangle? If I do that, how do I subnet then to multiple /30 or /32s

Quote Originally Posted by cookie View Post
    Thanks for the reply.

If I want BGP, it would be best to have vyatta or a cisco router in front then right?

Regarding subnetting, in endian, I just place the public IPs i have in the internet devices. I assume it's the same with untangle? If I do that, how do I subnet then to multiple /30 or /32s
    Yes, cisco or vyatta would be fine.

I'm not sure of your second question. You can split up your network however you like.