Thread: TCP failed

Untangler

Default TCP failed

I'd like to add some information to the discussion concerning getting the message "TCP failed". Hopefully the more information the better the chance someone will be able to give a definitive resolution.

I've been using UT for a few years on an old compaq proliant DL 360 G2 with 1 PIII 2g ram, internal nics, at&t dsl pppoe, ut version 8.1-1, it's for my home. I decided to try and upgrade to a P4. got a hp D530 sff, P4 2.6Mhz, 1.5GB ram. 1 internal nic, 1 compatible extra nic. Installation goes fine. start the configuration and enter the pppoe information, run the connectivity test, runs fine. finish installation and then i get the "tcp failed" connection. ut version 8.1-1. I can reboot the modem, reboot the ut server same result. if i unplug the P4 and plug in the G2 everything works.

Since this isn't a critical system, I'd be glad to run any tests if that would help resolve the issue. I'm reasonably competent with linux/unix.

NICs are good on new box?
    Do they both show as active in the networking page? (green LED with correct bandwidth setting 10/100/1000)
    The beatings shall continue until morale improves!

Untangler

yes both cards show green lights. The curious thing for me is that it passed connectivity during setup, what happens between config and apps download?

Not much, all that test is doing is using the configuration on External to run some tests against Untangle's datacenter.

So if TCP fails, that means for whatever reason the IP configuration on external cannot get online.

App installation doesn't change this at all, it just adds the apps.
    Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP
    NexgenAppliances.com
    Phone: 866-794-8879 x201
    Email: support@nexgenappliances.com

Untangler