Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Untangler

Default PCI Compliance- Two Factor Authentication (2FA) for remote administrators

I'm a volunteer remote administrator of a small network (I live 120 miles away and can not run down the hall to access the server). The current PCI requirements require any remote access to a network to use Two Factor Authentication (and is needed as evidenced by all the high profile security breaches due to insecure remote access) when connecting to any server on the same network as card data. I've been able to implement this in most all remote access except Untangle (btw OpenVPN is not considered remote per the PCI Standards so I'm not looking for 2FA with OpenVPN). I would like to be able to remote log into the web portal with 2FA to do the changes or updates needed. I often an out of the office when I have to log in. This has become such a high priority for PCI compliance (anyone without this is out of compliance and could be the next big story. When or how can this be implemented in the untangle web portal? I'm working with Duo Security now on a trial basis to see if this is the company I want to move forward with. Anyone have any suggestions on any easy ways to do this (no hacks as any updates may only break them). Anyone using 2FA now and have any suggestions on how to set this up? And finally, How can we have UT move to add the 2FA mandated PCI requirement to UT ver 11?

The PCI standards for two-factor authentication only effect remote access to a network through non-vpn methods.
    Attention: Support and help on the Untangle Forums is provided by
    volunteers and community members like yourself.
    If you need Untangle support please call or email support@untangle.com

Untangler

I'm accessing the web interface of Untangle through a non VPN method. It's HTTPS, but it is only one authentication factor. PCI compliance require two. Everywhere I find the following summary:

When is Two-Factor Authentication Required?