Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Untangler

Question OVA image for VMware default storage size

Hi,
    I'm trying out OVA image for VMware.

OVA is 64bit, Version 12.0.0
    Build: 12.0.0~svn20160324r42743release12.0-1jessie
    Kernel: 3.16.0-4-untangle-amd64

I've accepted all default during "Deploy OVA template".
    VMware shows storage as 81.11G provisioned.
    But when I ran it, untangle only reports Disk 7.92G.

Would it expand to 80G as storage fills up?

I'm new to VMware so I'm not all that sure how their provisioning stuff work.
    I'm thinking I've done something wrong somewhere so if somebody can point me to right direction I'd appreciate it.

Thank you.

Thin provisioning doesn't mean small disk to the OS, it means small disk on the hypervisor. There is no change in reported storage in the VM with either provisioning method.

It's my understanding that the OVA uses a small disk. If you want it larger, you'll need to expand the size in VMWare, and use a tool like GParted to grow the partition in the VM.
    Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP
    NexgenAppliances.com
    Phone: 866-794-8879 x201
    Email: support@nexgenappliances.com

Untangler

I've hit the same issue.

Why is the OVA using a disk size that is too small for pretty much everyone?

I've had to remove some modules, and drop my logs to 3 days to keep the really annoying alerts about disk space from being emailed to me every hour!

Untangler

Perhaps starting out small then using GParted to extend is easier than reducing it? I don't know I'm guessing.
    But what I can't understand is why provision 80G by default and not use entire provisioned storage.

If you are running out of disk space at 80G you have an issue.
    Its emailing you to know that it has an issue.

Just lowering your retention setting is not going to fix the issue, you have to look and see what is using the space.
    I would contact support.