Untanglit

Default Age old question

Hi all,

I am still relatively new at UTM and I know this is just a matter of preference.

I am considering untangle and opnsense/pfsense.

What makes untangle better than opnsense or untangle, besides the rich UI.

I would love to hear some thoughts.

Thank you

Master Untangler

Look at the features you want and choose accordingly. Since you are running vm's try them all. You cold even put one behind the other and look at the reports to see what was missed by the other. I have had pfsense in front of untangle to have dns over tls.

Get creative.

I like to think of it this way, assuming a basic understanding of the OSI model:

pfSense is a layer-3 native firewall with a few layer-7 features.

Untangle is a layer-7 native firewall, which means it's also kinda awesome at layer 3 by default.

The trick is understanding that operating at layer 7 does have a performance issue. We see people on the forums occasionally who complain about Untangle performance because they turned on EVERYTHING and don't understand the implications of all that layer 7 unwrapping/re-wrapping.

So if you want those nice layer 7 features, like web filter, session viewer, virus blocker, etc, Untangle is a great choice. If you're only looking for basic firewall service, and are comfortable with networking terminology such that pfSense doesn't scare you, then pfSense might be your better option.

One addition to this is pfSense does have options for doing layer 7 web filtering. It's worth mentioning the service Untangle uses blows them away.
    Five time Microsoft ASP.Net MVP managing a Lenovo RD330 / E5-2420 / 16GB with Untangle 14.0 to protect 700Mbits for ~400 residential college students and associated staff and faculty

PFSense vs Untangle is apples vs oranges.

PFSense is a superior layer 2 and layer 3 platform.
    Untangle is a superior layer 7 platform.

PFSense is a firewall with upgrade options that make it pretend it's a UTM.