Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Untangle Ninja

Default Replacing old homebuilt with new z4.

Credit to Untangle it's been a long time since I've had to diddle with one of my installs.

I wanted to Restore the config from the old box I'm replacing to the new z4 box I bought.

If I'm on the network with the old box do I need to put the z4 into bridge mode to restore it, I know there'll be an ip confilct but I can just unplug it from the lan when it's done or about done with the restore? I'm concerned with applying a router restore to a device set to bridge... it makes me fearful.

Or... is there an automagic in the command center that lets me put in the z4 box's "id" and pre set the desired restore file and when I plug the box into the modem... nah, that'd be too easy huh?

Untangler

I am far from an untangle expert. Others may have better advice.

I've done this a couple of times recently. When I do, I put the new firewall downstream of the old firewall. Then I go to command center and restore the old backup to the new machine. After that I swap out the hardware and transfer the license.

I've always done this by hand... I connect External to the Internet from behind whatever is online right now... use the physical console to get the box up enough to update if needed. Once the unit has what I need, I unplug it from the network, and hook my laptop in behind it with the configuration backup on it. Restore...

Now I have two identically configured Untnagles, I can check everything on the new unit and if I'm happy with the results I move the wires off the old to the new. Assuming all is good now, I add the UID to my untangle account and transfer the subscription.