Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Untanglit

Default Old Untangle NUC failing.

Hi all,

I have been running Untangle since 2016 and my Qotom NUC is getting getting a bit long in the tooth and has started throwing some Kernel Errors in the Notifications.
    Have purchased a new Qotom NUC and have a USB ready to load up 16.2.2.

Would it be best to install Untangle with the new NUC connected to my network or not, as I don't want to upset the existing install of Untangle?
    Then do a backup of my existing Untangle install (version 16.0.1) and a restore on the new NUC (version 16.2.2).
    Will this drag over the License info as well?

PS. I'm not the best with Linux CLI stuff

Thanks in advance.

Master Untangler

No Linux CLI stuff necessary...

Just connect the WAN port of the new NUC behind the old one....

Internet --> Old NUC --> LAN --> New NUC

1. Backup the config of the old NUC
    2. Install Untangle on the new NUC and register it (so it will appear in Untangle Command Center)
    3. Restore config on the new NUC then validate that all your settings were applied
    4. Swap out the boxes and confirm that it's routing traffic

Since it's a new install, you'll have full access to all features under a trial license. All your customizations and rules should still work even if you have put it into production and hasn't transferred your license.

5. When you're satisfied with the new NUC and you no longer intend to put the old one back, login to Untangle Command Center and transfer your license to the new Untangle instance

Untanglit

Thanks oj88....

Everything loaded ok on the new NUC so that's a good start.

Backed up my old config on a USB and plugged into the new NUC, clicked restore.....then restore from file but wouldn't have a clue how to find the backup file from within the various directories??

Thanks again...

Master Untangler