Master Untangler

Default Untangle as a virtual Barracuda

I have been on here before and heard this suggestion is not possible. Deploying an Untangle virtual machine and using it as a virtual Barracuda Antispam,Anti Email Virus appliance.

I am wondering why this would not work? I have a server that runs VMWare Server 1.0.8 with 5 VM's for a company. It has more than exceeded our expectations, ensuring that your foundation physical machine is a solid one which ours is. We never have to reboot the real machine.

With that, couldn't one make a Virtual Appliance of the Untangle system (download the one available) assign two virtual nics, direct the SMTP and POP3 ports from the router to the Untangle system, from Untangle to Exchange?

Sorry if this has been discussed before, I am not very technical in this area at all and there may be something obvious I am overlooking.

Thank you for your time!

I dont know that port forwarding from your router to untangle, and then from untangle to your exchange would work. In theory, it could, I just dont know if it will.

Usually, Untangle needs to be in the data path. If you had a physical machine, you could literally plug it in right in front of the exchange and use it that way, as a bridge.

(GATEWAY----->Switch----->untangle----->Exchange

Since your visualizing, you cant get into the data path. I would say give her a try and see if she works the way your proposing. It would be interesting if it does, but I have my reservations.
    www.nexgenappliances.com
    Toll Free: 866-794-8879
    UNTANGLE STAR PARTNER
    Follow us at spiceworks!

Quote Originally Posted by proactivens View Post
    Usually, Untangle needs to be in the data path. If you had a physical machine, you could literally plug it in right in front of the exchange and use it that way, as a bridge.

(GATEWAY----->Switch----->untangle----->Exchange