Default PPPoE Radio Broadband

Hi,

I have searched the wiki and forums and found nothing that has helped thus far. I am a fairly experienced network admin (could get myself into trouble saying that...) and have a broadband connection over radio that uses PPPoE.

I had originally used monowall which handled the pppoe auth and worked fine. I then found UT and setup a box running the 5.x versions with no probelms at all until one day UT had auto upgraded to v6.x and it would no longer connect to pppoe. I also found after this upgrade the hardware was lacking so tried two more sets of newer hardware with no joy.
    By this time the missus wasn't too happy with no internet for a few days so I reverted to pfsense (a few more features than mono) and have been running on that until now when I found there was a version 7 (and time has FINALLY permitted). So I download v7.1 and configure UT in router mode (as I had in 5.x), configured the interfaces and STILL the same cannot connect to PPPoE problem!!!

Now I have read PPPoE can be 'flaky' on UT, but I REALLY want use UT if I can. I do not have any small router device (Apart from my pf box) to connect to PPPoE, everything here in New Zealand is PPPoA, and the ISP will charge me about $130 for a small router, which then I still want to run UT (though i would rather just use pfsense than go that route)

Is there any further help, testing, etc someone can give me?

Many thanks
    Tim

mdh

If you're using Untangle in router mode, you can sometimes adjust the MTU on the external interface to fix issues with PPPoE. That's not guaranteed, but its worth a try. It is set for 1500 by default. Try dropping it down to 1492, then 1482, 1472, but don't go any lower than 1452. It might be worth checking with your ISP for the MTU that they use.

Hi MDH,

Wherabouts can I do this? I can only find it if I set external to Static, unless of course you mean the PPPoE Optional Parameters. If so would it be a line with mtu=xxxx?

Cheers

mdh