Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Untanglit

Default Tangled up with DHCP

Hi, I am brand new to untangle so please, be gentle.

I have a VMWare ESXi machine running a few clients one of which is Untangle. In this machine I have a few nics. I am dedicating six nics to untangle (one intel pro 1000 pt quad and one intel pro 1000 pt dual). There are other nics for the other VMs on the machine but that is besides the point.

I have configued ESXi to have a vSwitch for every nic I am assgning in Untangle. So I created a vSwitch, called it Untangle1 and added one nic to it. I repeated this upto Untangle6. Then I went into Untangle's VM settings and added each nic as type Flexible (if I should use e1000 or one of the others please let me know, I just used this setting because it was the default).

I opened up Untangle's management interface with Iceweasel and refreshed my network interfaces. Untangle found all six devices. It has labeled eth0 as External, eth1 as Internal, eth2 as DMZ and eth3,4,5,6 as eth3,4,5,6. I hooked eth0 up to the wan and Untangle got a DHCP address and tested for connectivity which was a success.

First, I want eth5,6 to be DMZs, where is this setting?

I enabled Untangle as a DHCP server and I bridged eth1-6 to eth0. I tried plugging a machine into each of those nics but the machine wasn't able to get an ip address. What am I doing wrong?

I believe I can answer a couple of those questions at least.

The names are internal to Untangle and (unless I'm mistaken) cannot be changed. You can make those NICs anything you want them to be, they will just say eth5 and eth6.

As for the DHCP, so you have promiscuous mode enabled on all the vSwitchs Untangle uses? You should also be using E1000 for the adapter type. I have heard that other ones work but E1000 has been working very well for me.

Oh, and welcome to the forums!!!
    Dan

You may one day find something interesting here. Today is not that day. Tomorrow isn't looking too good either.

Untanglit