Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Failed torrent tracker with transmission on FreeNAS box

I hope this is the proper place to post this, my apologies if not. Also, forgive my noob-ness, I'm just starting to learn a little more advanced networking and wanted to use Untangle as my playground/tutor.

I've just installed Untangle at home as a router. I've had a FreeNAS box running behind my old Rosewill RNX router for about a year now without problems. The FreeNAS box runs its own software with a static IP of 10.0.0.75. FreeNAS is based on FreeBSD and also runs a "jail" or sort of virtual machine that runs Transmission, a bittorrent client. The Transmission jail has its own IP of 10.0.0.82 (all IPs have been changed to protect the innocent). The jail connects to the Internet via a VPN (one of the popular VPN service providers on the net).

Here's a basic network diagram:

Untangle (10.0.0.1) ---- switch ---- Transmission jail (10.0.0.82) on FreeNAS box (10.0.0.75)

Untangle itself works fine, connects all my other systems to the Internet just fine. The problem I have now, is that any torrent file will throw an error after a minute or so saying "Tracker: Connection failed" or "Tracker: Could not connect to tracker."

The tracker should be reliable, as it is the torrent.ubuntu.com, downloading Ubuntu 15.04 for desktop.

I have turned off all Untangle services (except for Reports and Configuration Backup). I have restarted Untangle and my FreeNAS box. I even turned off the Shield (though not sure what that would do, since when I looked at the Shield log, everything was "passed").

I don't have any port forwarding rules set up, because I understand, when using the VPN, the port forwarding happens on the VPN side, rather than locally. Regardless, on my old Rosewill router, no port forwarding rules were needed. Also, I did try to create a rule to forward on Untangle, using the port found in the transmission settings, forwarding TCP/UDP to 10.0.0.82, but that still didn't work.