Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Newbie Question - Networking setup as DHCP server / Router

Hello

i'm new to untangle , just got my untangle home up and running , my network setup is simple

ASDL Router > untangle > internal network , The only way i got my internet working is for Untangle internal interface in bridged mode so now my ADSL router is giving all the DHCP IPs , what i want to do is have my internal network range different than my ADSL router range . sorry if i can't explain this well

my router's ip ( gateway )is ( 192.168.11.1 )
    untangle external - 192.168.11.3
    untangle internal - bridged

what i want is

my router's ip to be ( 192.168.1.1 ) and i still can access it from my internal network

i have zero networking knowledge and i couldn't figure this out on my own , appreciate any help , i want Untangle to handle my DHCP , DNS and to be able to access the router IP when i change it's range to 192.168.1.*

question sounds stupid but it's driving me crazy

Thanks
    Rami

Yeah... just don't. It's working leave it alone. Changing that address means rebuilding your entire network, and when you're done you'll just have future issues connecting to your work place via VPN.
    Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP
    NexgenAppliances.com
    Phone: 866-794-8879 x201
    Email: support@nexgenappliances.com

Who is your ISP? Are you in the US? I have a couple customers on Verizon DSL and I was able to accomplish what you want. Whatbis the make and model of your gateway?

If I understand your question correctly the issue you will have is that your ISP ADSL router and the untangle NG are going to try and use the same IP address of 192.168.1.1 and that is not going to work!

I was frustrated as well my first week, but I got used to my LAN devices being on the 192.168.11.0 network. As stated above I too would recommend leaving is at default, especially without having any network knowledge.

Cheers!

Quote Originally Posted by rmohsen View Post