Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RvD

Talking IPv6 'passthrough'

Hello,

I have been using Untangle for several years now and it has always worked fine for me.

I have the following configuration:

Internet <--> Cable modem/router (LAN 192.168.2.1) <--> Untangle (WAN 192.168.2.10, LAN 192.168.1.1) <-- > Switches, AP, computers all in 192.168.1.0/24.

So, both the Cable modem/router and Untangle are routers.
    Untangle is in the DMZ of the Cable Modem and everything is fine, including OpenVPN on Untangle and everything.

Now, my provider has introduced IPv6. I can choose between DHCPv6 and SLAAC.
    Untangle doesn't have an IPv6 DHCP-client (nor server, I believe), so I have setup the Cable modem/router in SLAAC mode. That works fine: Untangle selects an IPv6 for the WAN interface and from Untangle I can ping the IPv6 internet just fine.

However, I would also like for my computers to receive an IPv6-address as well. On the LAN IPv6 settings of Untangle, there's only an option for a static IPv6 address. But I cannot be sure what I need to enter there. It should just get one through SLAAC as well? All IPv6 addresses are publicly routable, so no NATv6 should be used.
    Is it possible to allow Untangle to pass-through the SLAAC (router information packets) from the cable modem/router? Or is there another way to get this all to work?
    Or is this even supported? Is it possible to get IPv6 working behind an Untangle router at all?
    When I connect a computer directly to the Cable modem/router, it gets both an IPv4 and IPv6 address just fine, whether I put the the Cable modem/router in DHCPv6 or SLAAC mode.

Thanks for any help and pointers you can give me.
    IPv6 is relatively new to me and although I have read some white papers on it, it is possible I have some facts wrong :-)

SLAAC and DHCPv6 are not alternatives nor exclusive. SLAAC is for link-local address, DHCPv6 is for public addresses.