Question Activate / Deactivate Firewall Rule through API

Hi all,

I use untangle with various policies to ensure that my kids and guests get a specific policy assigned, so I can control the respective clients through a dedicated webfilter and firewall app.

I am also using a smart-home. What I would like to achieve is to integrate a button in my smart home, that can trigger (activate/deactivate) a firewall rule to block complete internet access rather than having to login into the WebUI and do this manually.

I have read the untangle-api-doc, but since I am not a programmer, I am kinda lost and would greatly appreciate support on that matter.

Thanks a lot,
    Thomas

Untangler

I ask them the same question this week and the answer seems to be no.
    From what I can tell, the only mechanism they have where a policy change is stateful and not packet based is their time/date rule. But I don't see any option for something external.

*Everything I'm about to say is not supported, screw this up and you'll break your box in a way that not only will you not be able to get any help, but those like me won't even bother to try to help you.*

**** Again, cross this line at your own peril ****

Untangle has a command line utility that can control some aspects of the platform, this command is ucli

ucli instances, will return a list of rack applications, what their instance number is, and what rack they are running in. Using that command you can determine what the instance number of the firewall module you're working with is.

once you have that information, you can look in /usr/share/untangle/settings/firewall for a settings_<instance number>.js file that contains the firewall settings for the instance you're working with. If you change this file, then execute ucli stop <instance number>, followed by ucli start <instance number> you can inject a configuration change.