Default Home Network outline

Hello, Complete newbie looking for help with networking. I have had untangle running for over a year now and recently bought a managed swtich to setup vlans and isolate my Work computer and IOT devices.

Currently I am only using 1 port from Untangle to the Cisco switch. On untangle I have 6 vlans maped with DHCP. The Cisco switch has the same vlans maped and accepting the IP's from untangle.

Questions:
    1)Would it be better to have the switch do the vlans and DHCP and just have 1 lan port on untangle?
    2) Or would it be simpler just to use the 6 ports on the device I am using for untangle and ditch the switch?

Hardware:

• ISP Cable modem Bridged
    • Qotom 6 port running untangle
    • Switch: Cisco sg250-26hp
    • Asus AX86u in Access Point Mode

Network Diagram
    https://app.lucidchart.com/documents...8a40a647ad/0_0

Untangler

I am not a network engineer, so take my advice with caution. It seems to me that if you can get by with the 6 ports that you have in the PC, I would use them instead of the switch. That way you don't have to use vlans. Just keep in mind that ports fail. I had one fail on my qotom PC. Good Luck.

Master Untangler

You're in my wheelhouse.

I prefer running VLANs on an L-3 switch and apply ACLs where certain VLANs shouldn't be able to see another. Untangle is relegated to perimeter security and I don't want it to get bogged down by inter-VLAN traffic, which I do have quite a bit of.

It's just using the best tool for the job...
    Untangle for internet traffic
    Cisco switch for inter-VLAN traffic

Having the VLANs terminated and routed at the switch can present a few challenges. For one, Untangle doesn't support (at least in the GUI) setting up multiple address pools in its built-in DHCP server. You will have to do one of the following:
    a. Play around in Untangle CLI and/or deep into the advanced settings to configure multiple address pools