Default Custom Untangle disconnects often and needs DHCP renewal on external interface.

I'm an Untagle newb and I'm getting several disconnects per day that can only be fixed by explicitly clicking the Renew DHCP lease button on the external interface.

I was given an old HP desktop and I purchased two nics. Tried first with just a two port Rosewill, but that was problematic, so I purchased an additional TP Link card.

Current UT hardware is as follows:

version: 16.3.2
    uptime: 22d 22h 42m
    Server: custom
    CPU Count: 4
    CPU Type: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 CPU @ 2.70GHz
    Architecture: amd64
    Memory: 8.26 GB
    Disk: 979.9 GB

Internal interface card: TP-Link 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express Network Card (TG-3468)

External interface card: Rosewill Dual Port RJ45 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit PCI Express

I've looked at several other forum posts that deal with similar problems but I haven't had any luck. Closest to my current situation is this post:
    forums.untangle.com/networking/38520-random-internet-disconnects-ut-12-2-1-a.html

I've called Comcast and they said they would send "advanced signals" to my modem to resolve the problem. I'm certain that was the agent's way of blowing me off with techno speak. I'm not knowledgeable about networking, but I'm not dumb.

I had a different modem, and thinking it was a defective unit, I replaced it with a Surfboard.

I have tried the following with no luck:
    • Swapping nics between external and internal interfaces
    • Replacing the modem
    • Enabling QoS set to my purchased internet speed
    • Disabling apps one at a time
    • Praying to network firewall gods

I'm willing to provide more information, but I'm not sure what else will help.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Untangler

Quote Originally Posted by SBean View Post