Untanglit

Default Using NG Firewall in bridge mode

I have been looking at the Amplifi Alien Wifi 6 router, which has some limited protective functions. Unfortunately, they do not offer a similar access point. My question is the functionality of NG when in bridge mode. Will it still be able to use the applications for protection,vpn, etc? I know this may be basic, but I am new to firewalls. I know a typical gateway like Xfinity's would just pass stuff through in bridge mode. So if that is all NG would do, should I consider removing it?

Thanks so much for any advice.

We are going to need to define some terms.
    There can be an over-broad use of the term 'router' in the consumer market.

For example, along with any of the individual applications you care to run, NGFW is each of:
    • Router
    • NAT router
    • Firewall
    • DNS server
    • DHCP server

where so-called consumer 'routers' typcally do all of the above bullet items, plus
    • modem
    • Wi-Fi access Point

Putting a modem into bridge mode is completely different than NGFW being used as 'bridged'. NGFW functions as a bridge router, when you configure the interfaces that way. There really isn't any different mode; it doesn't disable any features (except NAT).

If you are putting in ' Amplifi Alien Wifi 6 router' first in-line, then you will be complicating things, AND NGFW can't protect it's Wi-Fi AP.

I would use a pairing of NGFW and a Ubiquiti UniFi AP.

Think fine wine, but less expensive.
    Last edited by Jim.Alles; 09-26-2020 at 01:39 PM. Reason: speeling

Untanglit

You answered my question, I would put the devices in this order Xfinity cable modem, then connect modem to ext WAN on NGFW in bridge mode, then the Alien Wifi 6 Router.

The Alien Router acts as Wifi Access point, NAT router with DHCP and DNS pointer. So the Alien would be last in line.

Coax to modem-ethernet to external wan port on NGFW (do I need to change it to internal in bridge mode?)-Amplifi Alien Router.