Default Command Center and Secruity

Hi,

I'm new to untangle and am trying to understand the way NG Firewall data interacts with Command Center. I reached out to support and was sent a privacy policy after asking a few questions and was left confused. So, I figured I'd ask the smart folks here.

Is there any documentation that outlines what data is sent to the untangle cloud from NG firewall? Any information on the security of that environment? For example, are backups encrypted? Do all network flows go to the cloud? How does command center securely access the firewall other than it being an "SSL Connection"? I see that untangle has solutions for Banking, Public Sector customers, etc.; has the Untangle cloud passed any third party compliance audits?

Sorry for all of the questions, I don't expect them all answered, just looking to be pointed in the right direction. Thanks!

w00t

Hey @JakeSmith1911,

Thanks for the question - definitely a lot of crazy stuff going on with breaches these days..

We take that very seriously at Untangle and have layers of security in place to protect customer data and communication pathways. Of course, it's a never-ending task.

You have the option to turn off all Command Center communication, but we feel the benefits outweigh the risks.
    See Config --> System --> Support
    Untitled picture.png

The NGFW will still communicate with our license and update services, as well as any services used by the NGFW apps, but a lot of Command Center functionality will not be available. These service collect minimal information about the NGFW: UID, version, IP address, number of hosts.