Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Windows 7 Beta

  1. #11
    Master Untangler
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Well, don't be mad at microsoft, they told you to not use the beta in a production enviroment because it's not fully active!

    As far as GPOs go.. any moronic hacker can bypass those suckers. It's even easier then asking for someones credit card number in AOL chatrooms lol. If you are a fresh user on a workstation, the instant you log in and push enter after putting your password in, unplug the network cable til you get to the desktop. GPO lockdown what??? Well, until a refresh happens, but it will give you the chance to make any system settings changes you wish, and they stick.

  2. #12
    Master Untangler
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    104

    Default

    What company gives people a computer that has never been logged in or on the domain? By the time someone gets the computer it has already been added and GPO's already applied, even if they login the first time default GPO's should be applied.

  3. #13
    Untangle Ninja YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hescominsoon View Post
    i'm sure there will be..right now the beta isn't useful
    "Beta" and "production environment" should not be together anyways.

    They're not making money on this product yet....I wouldn't expect them to spend valuable resources having staff hammer and rush out updates for Servers right now.

  4. #14
    Master Untangler
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jasin View Post
    What company gives people a computer that has never been logged in or on the domain? By the time someone gets the computer it has already been added and GPO's already applied, even if they login the first time default GPO's should be applied.
    GPO's are applied to users if you've done it right (and not computers). If that were the case, logging into a computer as administrator would be locked down just as bad as a user. If your username has never logged into that workstation before, it has no user info about you stored. If you pull the plug as soon as you hit enter to login, the GPO does not get transfered until the next auto refresh. Until that refresh, you have full PC access.

    I'm using Windows 7 right now at my work, I dual booted my workstation vista ult/win 7 during lunch. Works fine so far on a 2008 domain. Zero program issues. Didn't even need the raid driver like vista did. Nvidia video drivers 181 work perfect too. In vista it didn't allow me to pick what tray to print to on our HP 2350 network printer (a real PITA). It does in 7. ha.

    So in the end.. so far, it works BETTER then Vista SP1. (true SP1, not upgraded).

  5. #15
    Newbie NoV!ruses's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default tested

    I tested here at work in VMware and I am impressed.

  6. #16
    Untanglit
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    I've been running it as my primary desktop since the beta hit TechNet.

    It doesn't seem like a big deal. Really. It doesn't. Ya know, the new way the taskbar works. But, well, no, you can't have the DVD back. No, I'm keeping it. NO YOU WILL HAVE TO PRY IT FROM MY DEAD STONE COLD CLAWS BEFORE YOU CAN HAVE IT BACK! Ahem.

    Grin, okay, as a serious mutltasker, the new taskbar functionality nails it for me. By itself it justifies the upgrade over xp/vista. I regularly have 10, 15 windows at a time open. (A mix of RDP, World of Warcraft (yes, windowed), FireFox, Outlook, TeamViewer, GoToExpress, etc.) It's just a breeze to work with them all with the new taskbar.

    I've got three machines running it, all x64. One with 8GB RAM, two with 16GB RAM. Other than some issues with Adobe CS4 that I was able to resolve, no problems, rock solid. Performance in CS4 is just amazing, but that is at least partly due to offloading some intensive stuff to the Nvidia graphics card. Boatloads of RAM doesn't hurt though, particularly working on those 30foot 300 dpi banners.

    So, three votes: Mine, and two graphics artists, thumbs up.

  7. #17
    Master Untangler Drewster727's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    163

    Default

    yea I ran one of the pre-public releases as a VM. Looks pretty slick, runs great.

    I have also heard that laptop users running windows 7 will notice a 20% longer battery life.

    As for my gaming PC though...I cannot get windows 7 loaded, not even the latest public release. Microsoft forgot to include nforce 570 sata drivers...lol. I cannot even vlite them in, just bluescreens me. Oh well, guess I'll wait for RC1 here in a month.

  8. #18
    Untangle Ninja sky-knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    26,249

    Default

    I love Windows 7... not so much because it's "better" than Vista... but because the public perception is so easily shifted.

    Vista "sucks"...

    But "Windows 7" is good?

    There is about as much difference between these two OS's as 2000 was to XP. But everyone loves 7...

    Granted, I'm looking forward to the new release too but I also have no issues with Vista 64bit other than moron software devs.
    Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP
    NexgenAppliances.com
    Phone: 866-794-8879 x201
    Email: support@nexgenappliances.com

  9. #19
    Untangle Ninja
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,129

    Default

    Windows 7 runs considerably faster on all the machines I have tried it on compared to Vista. The interface is much cleaner.

    Some things still aggrevate me. I LOVED XP's explorer. When you clicked on a folder it automatically expanded. This sucks on Vista/7.

    Overall I'm very happy with Windows 7.

    Lannie

  10. #20
    Untangle Ninja YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,558

    Default

    I call it "Vista SE"

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2