Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default Disallow simultaneous connections

    How do I set a server so if USER1 is connect from LOCATION1 and tries to connect again from LOCATION2, it will either disconnect first user or not let second user login?

  2. #2
    Untangle Ninja sky-knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    23,989

    Default

    OpenVPN on Untangle doesn't allow for this, if you have a single client connecting more than once one or the other will fail at random.

    Those clients are devices, not users.
    Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP
    NexgenAppliances.com
    Phone: 866-794-8879 x201
    Email: support@nexgenappliances.com

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    If you wanted to limit one user from connecting more than once, there is no way to do this?

  4. #4
    Untangler jcoffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    8,352

    Default

    Untangle OpenVPN will discount the first connection on the connection of the first. The reason is there is an IP assigned to each remote config on first connection. This IP address cannot have multiple points of routing. It's just how OpenVPN works.
    Attention: Support and help on the Untangle Forums is provided by
    volunteers and community members like yourself.
    If you need Untangle support please call or email support@untangle.com

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    So you are saying it shouldn't be allowing simultaneous connections anyway?

    I tested it and it seemed to be working, but maybe I should try again

    The use case is I have a user who is only paying for 10 VPN connections.

    What about total user? I tried adjusting the MAX-CLIENTS to 10 but that seems to break a number of things in untangle

  6. #6
    Untangle Ninja sky-knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    23,989

    Default

    That is correct, the 2nd connection terminates the 1st. Each client can only be connected once.
    Rob Sandling, BS:SWE, MCP
    NexgenAppliances.com
    Phone: 866-794-8879 x201
    Email: support@nexgenappliances.com

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Okay just tested it with them both in front of me.

    Looks like they keep disconnecting one another and automatically reconnecting and kicking the other off.

    Is there a way to set it to DISABLE auto reconnect in the client config that is built by installer? That way if user accidentally leaves one on at home or something they don't have an issue connecting from somewhere else?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2