Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default OpenVPN on port 443

Quote Originally Posted by andycap View Post
    Hi, I am new to Untangle firewall and a professional senior network engineer. Same ISP configuration here. Can you please clarify "...443 is in use on all interfaces". I have moved Network->Services->HTTPS/HTTP away from default 443/80. Also I have configured a port forwarding rule for HTTPS 443/UDP to my OpenVPN server on the internal network. After hours of tcpdump'ing on the firewall ports, I found that the Web Filter was causing the problem. Currently the Web Filter is turned off. Can you give me a workaround for Web Filter settings/exception to get it work ? I would prefer using the built in OpenVPN server, but when I am trying to configure it, I always get the message, that the port 443/UDP is in use by the firewall. This worked seamlessly with Mikrotik or Sophos. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Welcome to Untangle and the forums!

Can you give me a workaround for Web Filter settings/exception to get it work ?
    No.

Web Filter is going to inspect traffic on port 443.

You are going to need to find a way to bypass that traffic in NGFW

dns byp.png

https://wiki.untangle.com/index.php/Bypass_Rules
    Last edited by Jim.Alles; 05-25-2020 at 08:38 AM.

Thank you for quick answer. Please correct me if I am wrong. Concerning to the diagram, port forwarding sessions for 443/TCP/UDP are processed by Untanngle-VM and Apps. So the preferred method is bypassing 443/UDP. In general the sessions are initiated from road warriors. I have tried a various bypass rules without luck.
    How can a bypass rule look like ? Source IP 0.0.0.0/0 or source interface (=external for road warriors) and/or destination IP 10.x.x.x/32 with port 443/UDP ? What about NATing for incoming requests ? Is it also possible to do a port translation ?

The screen shot was just for navigating to the target.
    Yet, there is an example right there,