Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Arrow (Solved) How does Untangle Reports work with my Router?

Hi,

I'm not very technically minded about Untangle (or any Linux distro's)... Hoping for a very simple answer.

As you can see from My Network Diagram, I have installed an Untangle Server between my Modem and Router.

It seems to work fine and I'm very excited about my new security. Mainly Snort; I was originally looking for a way to try out Snort on Windows XP, when I came across Untangle, my jaw hit the floor!

I would just like to know if there is any changes I should be making in my Router's settings (BR-6216Mg) or should I just leave them as they are?

The reason I ask this, is because I'm finding the 'Untangle Reports' quite confusing. I'm not sure if the 'Untangle Server' will be able to work out Which Internal IP (192.168.*.*) is accessing 'What and When' so that it can create appropriate Reports associated to each Internal IP...

I am thinking that anything beyond my Router (WAN wise) such as the 'Untangle Server' (and the Internet) will not see my Internal IP's... Am I correct, and what should I do about it if so?

My ISP is 'Virgin Media' (AKA NTL UK): DSL

I can post any information required, although I will have to lie about MAC address's & Internal IP's etc, for obvious reasons.

Thanks in advance,
    J.
    Last edited by J2897; 03-31-2008 at 01:57 PM. Reason: Edit the title, adding: (Solved)

Welcome to the forums!

Untangle should be able to identify which IPs are going where and it should also show up in the reports. If it's not, then you most likely are plugging the Untangle Server into the WAN port (NAT port) of your router. This would mean that you are double NATing and also, all traffic is going to appear as if it is coming from one address... the router. You should plug Untangle's internal interface into the switch port on the LAN side of the router. Then everything should work as it's supposed to.