Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default SPAM Module Overloaded?

Hi,

I have been running a couple of Untangle servers here for a few months now and I have been really impressed so far.

Unfortunately however since the upgrade to 6.1, I have been having a real problem with the SPAM module. I had Untangle 6.0.2 running on a Dual Processor AMD Athalon 1.8Ghz machine + 2Gb of ram. After the automatic upgrade, I started to notice that some mail coming into my Exchange server was delayed by up to 12 hours. The CPU of the Untangle machine never went above 30% but from reading around the forums, I thought that it might be worth upgrading to a more powerful server to see if the extra HP would make a difference.

I installed a new machine last Friday from a 6.1 ISO with no problems on a HP DL380 dual core Xeon 3Ghz + 3Gb Ram. I performed a backup and restore to the new server, swapped all my cables over and it started working perfectly. The server worked all Friday afternoon and I thought I had cracked the problem but Monday morning came and the new server was displaying the same simptoms as the old server. CPU at 30% and the logs were showing that most of the mail was receiving a SPAM score of 0 and being blocked.

Since then, I have changed the default SPAM response from reject to accept so at least we are not missing any important mails but obviously my Exchange server is not doing a very good job at filtering the SPAMS so we are recieving a lot of junk.

I have around 20 users on my network and to give you an idea of scale, the new server has processed around 25,000 emails in the past 24 hours.

Thanks

Master Untangler

Quote Originally Posted by pauljones_2 View Post
    Hi,

I have around 20 users on my network and to give you an idea of scale, the new server has processed around 25,000 emails in the past 24 hours.

Thanks
    Looks like you are having a spam attack. That's a lot of Spam for 20 people.

It is but it has always been around that level really.