Lightbulb Google ssl whitelist / ignore rules for consumer apps

Hello untanglers! My first post here, I have never done this with you before so please be gentle with me...

Ok, so after beating my head against the wall and realizing I had the condition set incorrectly and everything I was testing really did not matter... I figured it out. Oh yeah, SNI Host Names also follow the Glob Matching string NOT URL matcher... So there is that too.

I finally did some deep reading. Note the wiki has a page Rules ( wiki.untangle.com/index.php/Rules ) and Untangle Rule Syntax ( wiki.untangle.com/index.php/Untangle_Rule_Syntax ) I recommend anyone new start with just the Rules page so you know which syntax to use or else you will just waste a bunch of time.

This may not be %100 correct list (They may not all be necessary) but it works. I am going to eliminate and refine later.

So if you want to inspect google traffic but still allow android devices/chrome apps through you can use a rule to ignore the following list. It will still inspect google traffic on your android devices just not the following that SSL Inspector cannot decrypt. I consolidated most of the host names so it does not have to process each individual sub domain. Anyway, I am still kind of new to this so if you see something wrong or something needs added please let me know.

To test this I just added a SSL Inspector rule like this...
    Edit Inspect Google rule and add a field for IS NOT SSL Inspector:SNI Host Name and include the list (you can copy and paste this list into the field and Untangle will auto-magically put them in a single line )

Capture.PNG

Here is the list I came up with thus far. It still inspects google searches etc, only omitting the required services that are hard coded and end up abandoned. I plan to do this for Apple devices as well next. First I am going to go through this list and make sure that these are all %100 necessary and remove any that are not.

*.1e100.net,