Default Passed By Policy ??

Hi,

On the rack in the web filter there is a "Passed by Policy" area...where does this come from?

I do not think I have any policies in place for passing, only blocking? Yet I have a few hundred passed by policy.

I can't find any mention of this in the help file?

Thanks,

Jim

If you're referring to the firewall module, the default policy is to pass all traffice. You have to change it to block by default. That is probably where you're getting "passed by policy" info.

I have my firewall to block all incoming traffic, with one rule to allow outbound.

The one I am speaking of is "pass by policy" is out to the right of the web filter showing the number of:
    Pages Scanned
    Pages Blocked
    Pages Passed
    Passed by Policy

Here is a screenshot link:Passed By Policy

Is this showing something from the firewall as well...sorry if this is a simple question but this is my first time with UT and I have a lot to learn.

Jim

Are you blocking everything?

Do you have nothing on your passlist?
    Attention: Support and help on the Untangle Forums is provided by volunteers and community members like yourself.
    If you need Untangle support please call or email support@untangle.com

My firewall is all "Blocked" with only one rule allowing outbound traffic.

On the web filter there are no sites to pass...just sites to block?

I have gone through everything and I cant find anything that shows "Pass".

Thanks,

Jim

Web Filter is a separate app from Firewall. so I'm not sure what you're asking...

Are all categories set to block in Web Filter?
    Attention: Support and help on the Untangle Forums is provided by volunteers and community members like yourself.
    If you need Untangle support please call or email support@untangle.com

Passed by policy in the web filter log is when you check mark the log on the categories.
    to be understood, you must first understand. :)